Row of people seated in a hall
CSC Alumni South Africa

Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows Alumni of South Africa AGM 2023

Date: 07/03/2023

Duration: 9:00-12:00 (SAST)

Location: The Capital Menlyn Maine, Pretoria

Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows Alumni of South Africa (CoSFASA) Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2023

The Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows Alumni of South Africa (CoSFASA) will hold their Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 7 March 2023.

The AGM will provide an opportunity for the current steering committee and alumni members to meet with the British Council New Country Director and Programme Manager. Chevening Association Committee will be in attendance for part of the meeting to deliberate with Commonwealth Alumni to discuss future collaborations between the two associations.

Items for discussion at the AGM include:

  • To build a self-sufficient alumni association in South Africa
  • Deliberation on previous engagements and challenges with CoSFASA
  • To implement change of leadership and vote new members to lead CoSFASA going forward
  • To affirm support received by the British Council towards CoSFASA as mandated by the CSC
  • To plan alumni engagements for the new financial year 2023/24
  • Deliberation on plans to collaborate with Chevening Association and work closely with the FCDO

If you are a Commonwealth Alumnus from South Africa and would like to attend this event, please contact


The agenda for the AGM is as follows:

  1. Communication from the British Council
  2. Communication from the Alumni Steering Committee
  3. Discussions on the work plan for CoSFASA
  4. Communication and publicity
  5. Association leadership
  6. AOB

George Barret, Country Director, British Council in South Africa

Caroline Kiconco, Program Manager Commonwealth Scholarships, British Council in South Africa

Kealeboga Letlhaku, Deputy Director of Scholarships Management, Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET)

Leandra Koenig, CoSFASA Committee Member

Christy Milligan, CoSFASA Committee Member

Aaliyah Vayez, CoSFASA Committee Member

Bongekile Mbele, CoSFASA Committee Member

Riedwaan Fakier, CoSFASA Committee Member

Sabelo Ndwandwe, CoSFASA Committee Member

Metji Makgoba, CoSFASA Committee Member

Paballo Chauke, CoSFASA Committee Member

Keneilwe Mampuru, CoSFASA Committee Member

Lucia Makamure, CoSFASA Committee Member