Flag of MauritiusThe newly-established Open University of Mauritius plans to offer 54 Commonwealth Scholarships – one for every Commonwealth country – from next year, it was announced yesterday.

The ambitious plan was revealed by Dr Hon Rajesh Jeetah, Minister of Tertiary Education, Science, Research and Technology – and himself a former Commonwealth Academic Fellow (Civil and Environmental Engineering Applications, University of Cambridge, 2002) – at the opening of the Post-Secondary and Higher Education Leaders’ Forum on Monday. The forum is being held alongside the 18th Conference of Commonwealth Education Ministers (18CCEM).

Further details of the scholarships, which are likely to focus on the Master of Business Administration (MBA) course offered by the university, will be announced later this year.