On 16 December 2023, Commonwealth Alumni based in Mumbai, India gathered to take part in a panel discussion on, ‘Transforming India: fostering a digital ecosystem in the next decade’. The event brought together experts representing academia, public health, law, and social development.

Opening remarks were delivered by Commonwealth Alumnus Dr. Adarsh Kumar (2011 and 2014 Commonwealth Academic Fellow), founding member of Association of Commonwealth Scholars and Fellows India (ACSF) and Professor, Forensic Medicine & Toxicology and In-charge Forensic Anthropology & Forensic Radiology at AIIMS, New Delhi. He briefly introduced ACSF and the importance of these events in engaging the alumni community.

Commonwealth Alumnus Dr Solomon Salve (2009 Commonwealth Scholar) then introduced the panel.


  • Dr M. M. Ananth, Founding Vice Chancellor, Adani University
  • Priyanka Mishra Roy (2004 Commonwealth Shared Scholar), Public Policy Professional
  • Shalabh Sahai (2003 Commonwealth Professional Fellow), Co-Founder and Director
  • Dr Raghu S Thota (2022 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholar), Professor & Consultant, Palliative Medicine, Tata Memorial Centre

Panellists engaged in lively discussion on the ways in which technology has contributed to developments in their sectors. They highlighted the importance of understanding the technical and human aspects and challenges of implementing a digital ecosystem, with reference to the impact of this on marginalised groups.

Examples of existing digital innovations shared by panellists included quantum computing and digital record keeping, and the rise in digital health technologies. At the same time, panellists raised concerns regarding security and governance, citing data breaches and privacy concerns and inequality of digital literacy.

Following the panel discussion, Commonwealth Alumnus Dr Namrata Ganneri (2017 Commonwealth Rutherford Fellow), Assistant Professor, S.N.D.T. College of Arts and S.C.B. College of Commerce & Science for Women, S.N.D.T. Women’s University, gave the vote of thanks.

This was followed by a Q&A session and networking reception.