We are pleased to welcome five new Commissioners to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK (CSC) this year. Each Commissioner will contribute their expertise and leadership to help steer the future direction of CSC in the years ahead.

Since 1960, the CSC has funded over 31,000 students to study in the UK, enabling them to gain skills, acquire knowledge, and build networks to tackle global development challenges.

Aided by the work of its Commissioners, the CSC drives forward global sustainable development objectives, supporting innovators and leaders of the future from across the Commonwealth, while simultaneously attracting outstanding talent to Britain’s universities.

Read on to find out more about our new Commissioners and the experience they will bring to their role at the CSC.

Aisling Conboy

Aisling Conboy is a Senior Programme Director at Wilton Park, an executive agency of the UK Foreign Commonwealth & Development Office, where she convenes dialogues on trade, diplomacy, and education.

Aisling is a Fellow of the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA). She also serves on the Chevening reading panels and is a Fulbright Summer Institutes panel member.

Professor Allan Hill

Professor Allan Hill is Professor of Population and International Health Emeritus in the School of Economic, Social and Political Sciences at the University of Southampton. His research and teaching have centred on improving the health and reproductive security of low-income populations in the Middle East and West Africa.

Professor Liz Baggs

Professor Liz Baggs is Chair of Food and Environmental Security and Deputy Dean of Research for Strategic Change in the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine at the University of Edinburgh. She is also Deputy Director of the Global Academy of Agriculture and Food Systems at the University of Edinburgh.

Ryan Shorthouse

Ryan Shorthouse is the Founder and Executive Chair of the independent think tank, Bright Blue. He is a Senior Visiting Fellow at King’s College London and a Trustee of the What Works Centre, Transforming Access and Student Outcomes in Higher Education (TASO).

Elizabeth Tanya Masiyiwa

Elizabeth Tanya Masiyiwa is a social entrepreneur and smart tech executive. She is the President and CEO of Delta Philanthropies, Higherlife Foundation, and Akello that all support education and learning initiatives for students in Africa.

Elizabeth serves on the board of several charities and foundations, including Harvard University’s Leadership Council for the Centre of Africa Studies. She also advises several entrepreneurship and philanthropy networks.

Thank you to all our departing Commissioners

We would like to thank the Commissioners whose tenure ended this year for their invaluable service and commitment to supporting the aims of the CSC.